Deleting Vs. Trashing

The TKE sidebar is a powerful tool for managing your project’s file system, including the ability to quickly create, rename, duplicate and delete files and folders without leaving TKE. But the sidebar has a somewhat hidden trick which allows you to choose whether to delete an item or send that item to the trash.

What’s the difference between deleting and trashing? When you delete an item, that item is permanently removed and cannot be easily recovered. Because of its nature, TKE will always ask the user for confirmation before allowing a delete command to take place. When you trash a file, you are basically moving the file to a special directory on your computer which has the ability to remember where its contents came from, allowing you to quickly put the file/folder back where it came from. Trashes also have the ability to delete all of their contents with a single command and they generally make their content read-only. Because sending a file to the trash can be easily reversed, TKE will not bug you with a confirmation dialog when you send something to the trash.

So how do you choose between deleting and trashing within TKE? Head on over to preferences (Command-. on macOS or Control-. on Windows/Linux) and change the Show Move To Trash for local files/directories instead of Delete checkbox to the desired value.

img-alternative-text

It’s important to note that you cannot move remote files (i.e., any file system that was opened via FTP, SFTP or WebDAV) to the trash, you can only delete those files. If you have the preference setting to show the Move to Trash option in the sidebar menus and you show the sidebar menu for a remote file, the Delete option will automatically be displayed.

Sweet.

To see more information and download your copy of the TKE code editor, visit http://tke.sourceforge.net.

Advertisements
Deleting Vs. Trashing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s