Sidebar Ordering and Keyboard Selection

A couple of quick sidebar tips for you.

Tip #1: File/Folder Ordering

Depending on your operating system and personal preferences, you may be more accustomed to having all of the folders grouped at the top of a folder’s listed contents while all files are listed below. Or perhaps you prefer to have your files and folders intermixed in alphabetical order. Whichever way you prefer to view files/folders in the sidebar, TKE has you covered.

To switch the sidebar file/folder ordering, head on over to preferences (Edit / Preferences / Edit User – Global menu option), select the Sidebar panel and make sure that the Behaviors tab is selected. Simply toggle the checkbutton labeled Show Folders at Top to cause the sidebar to display folders first or folders intermixed.

image-2

Tip #2: Keyboard Selection

If the sidebar has keyboard focus, you can quickly select a file or folder within the current folder by typing the name of the file. As long as you enter the successive characters within a second of each other (the default time), the characters will be appended to the current search string; otherwise, waiting beyond a second will cause the search string to clear out and entering another key will select the first file/folder matching the new search string.

If one second between characters is not enough or too much time, you can adjust the value within the same Sidebar / Behavior tab within preferences, by increasing/decreasing the Append characters to search string if entered within: value.

And since we are on the topic of using the keyboard within the sidebar, you can always select the parent folder by hitting the left arrow key and you can open the currently selected folder by hitting the right arrow key. This means that you can quickly change the selection of any file/folder within the sidebar using only the keyboard.

Your mouse or trackpad might get a bit lonelier with these tips.

To see more information and download your copy of the TKE code editor, visit http://tke.sourceforge.net

Sidebar Ordering and Keyboard Selection

Deleting Vs. Trashing

The TKE sidebar is a powerful tool for managing your project’s file system, including the ability to quickly create, rename, duplicate and delete files and folders without leaving TKE. But the sidebar has a somewhat hidden trick which allows you to choose whether to delete an item or send that item to the trash.

What’s the difference between deleting and trashing? When you delete an item, that item is permanently removed and cannot be easily recovered. Because of its nature, TKE will always ask the user for confirmation before allowing a delete command to take place. When you trash a file, you are basically moving the file to a special directory on your computer which has the ability to remember where its contents came from, allowing you to quickly put the file/folder back where it came from. Trashes also have the ability to delete all of their contents with a single command and they generally make their content read-only. Because sending a file to the trash can be easily reversed, TKE will not bug you with a confirmation dialog when you send something to the trash.

So how do you choose between deleting and trashing within TKE? Head on over to preferences (Command-. on macOS or Control-. on Windows/Linux) and change the Show Move To Trash for local files/directories instead of Delete checkbox to the desired value.

img-alternative-text

It’s important to note that you cannot move remote files (i.e., any file system that was opened via FTP, SFTP or WebDAV) to the trash, you can only delete those files. If you have the preference setting to show the Move to Trash option in the sidebar menus and you show the sidebar menu for a remote file, the Delete option will automatically be displayed.

Sweet.

To see more information and download your copy of the TKE code editor, visit http://tke.sourceforge.net.

Deleting Vs. Trashing